Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Article Image Alt Text

DS Tigers Baseball All-District Selections

Article Image Alt Text

The 2019 District 25-5A All-District baseball squads have been selected by the coaches and have been released now that all of the district teams have been eliminated from the playoffs. The second place Tigers (25-14-1) faired very well with eight selections.

Special Awards: MVP: Nick Gullo, DS Sr. A very good choice. His strength was pitching with a 7-2 record with an ERA of .514 in 68.1 innings. Gave up 29 hits, 26 walks, struck out 108 and only five earned runs. Batted .265 on 27 hits, scored 15 with 17 rbis. Had five doubles, 2 triples and 3 homeruns. Offensive MVP: Booga de la Garza, McCallum Sr.; Defensive MVP: Adam Hartman, Crockett Sr. catcher; Pitcher of the Year: Ace Dietz, McCallum Sr.; Newcomer of the Year: Easton Salinas, McCallum soph.; Coach of the Year: Brandon Grant, McCallum.

First Team:

Pitcher: Zach Tjelmeland, DS Jr.: Had a 4-4 record in 47.2 and ERA of 2.82. Gave up 33 hits, 28 walks, 26 runs and struck out 60 batters.

Pitcher: Yzmael Izquierdo, McC; Luis Adame, Lanier; Logan Hersom, Lockhart.

Catcher: Walker Kohler, LBJ.

First base: Alex Sosa, Lockhart.

Second base: Ryan Davenport, DS Sr.: Led the team with a .378 BA on 34 hits, scored 23 runs, 10rbis, 4 doubles, 1 triple and team high 18 stolen bases.

Third base: R.J. Cabela, DS Sr.; Batted .262 on 22 hits, scored 15, had 15 rbis, 7 doubles and 1 triple.

Shortstop: Zach Heimann, Lanier.

Outfield: Alec Worden, McC; Sean Fresch, LBJ; Jackie Edwards, Lockhart.

Designated Hitter: Diego Barraz, McC; Utility Player: Justin Rodriguez, Travis.

Second Team:

Pitcher: Nathan Koch, DS Sr.: 3-1 record in 19 innings. Gave up 11 hits, 13 walks, struck out 26 and 11 ER and 4.05 ERA.

Pitchers: Jack Murphy, LBJ; Hunter Scott, LBJ; Christian Stromberger, LBJ.

Catcher: Nico Ramirez, DS Sr.: Batted .330, with 30 hits, 16 runs, 8 rbis, 2 doubles, 1 triple.

1B: Tucker Ebest, LBJ; Oscar Peralta, Lanier; Aidan Vidal, Crockett; Jacob Cervantes, Travis.

2B: Axel Palanco, Lanier.

3B: Jacob Masters, McC; Jonathan Rico, Lanier.

SS: Brennan Frickel, DS soph: Batted .302 with 29 hits, 15 runs, 17 rbis, 9 doubles, 2 triples, 1 homerun.

OF: Ty Kaatz, DS Sr: Batted .330 with 31 hits, 25 runs, 16 rbis, 5 doubles, 1 triple, 12 stolen bases.

OF: Cy Griebel, Lockhart; Jose Adame, Lanier; Jacob Castillo, McCallum.

DH: Ian McIntosh, LBJ.

U: Zack Trzcinko, Crockett.

Honorable Mention: Chris Tyree, Sr; Aidan Seligman, Sr; Parker Alford, Sr.


Dripping Springs Century-News

P.O. Box 732
Dripping Springs, Texas 78620

Phone: (512) 858-4163
Fax: (512) 847-9054